This website uses cookies. If you continue to use this site you consent to the use of cookies on the site in accordance with our cookie policy.

find an article

 
PRINT |

ENSight

 

COIDA – Directive on Compensation for Workplace-Acquired Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)

On Thursday, 23 July 2020, a notice was published in Government Gazette No. 43540 (GN. 387), enclosing the Directive issued by the Minister of Employment and Labour entitled "Directive on Compensation for Workplace-Acquired Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)". The Directive replaces the notice issued on 23 March 2020 regarding occupationally-acquired Coronavirus (COVID-19). 

The Directive has been issued to clarify the position in respect of "…compensation of claims for workplace-acquired COVID-19" and deals with "…workplace-acquired COVID-19 resulting from work-related exposures; exposure to suspected or confirmed cases(s) of COVID-19 in the workplace; or while travelling on an official trip to high-risk countries or areas on work assignment or while performing any duty in pursuance of the employer's business".

 

The Directive came into effect on 23 July 2020 and will remain in operation as long as the declaration of COVID-19 as a national disaster in terms of the Disaster Management Act, 2002 subsists, or until it is withdrawn by the Minister, whichever comes earlier.

Click here to view a copy of the Directive.

Willem le Roux
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive Consultant
wleroux@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 772 5267

 

Pieter Colyn
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
pcolyn@ENSafrica.com
+27 83 327 2474

 

Celeste Coles
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
ccoles@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 875 8202

 

Warren Hendricks
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
whendricks@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 788 0733

 

Tyla Foster
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
tfoster@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 708 0548

 

Gerhardt Ehlers
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
gehlers@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 708 0178

 

Juanita Broom
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
jbroom@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 560 2904