This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. If you continue to use this site without changing your cookie settings we assume you consent to the use of cookies on this site.

find an article

mine and occupational health and safety | 19 May 2020
ENSight

mine and occupational health and safety


South Africa: Mine Health and Safety Act, 1996 – new guideline published related to COVID-19

On Monday, 18 May 2020, GN. 280 of 2020 was published in Government Gazette No. 43335, in terms of which the Chief Inspector of Mines for the Mine Health and Safety Inspectorate of the Department of Mineral Resources and Energy, issued a Guideline for the Compilation of a Mandatory Code of Practice on the Mitigation and Management of COVID-19 Outbreak at mines, in terms of section 49(6) of the Mine Health and Safety Act, 1996.

An effective date of Monday, 25 May 2020, is recorded on the aforesaid guideline.  

Click here to view a copy of the guideline.

For more information, please contact:

Willem le Roux
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive Consultant
wleroux@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 772 5267

Pieter Colyn
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
pcolyn@ENSafrica.com
+27 83 327 2474 

Celeste Coles
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
ccoles@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 875 8202 

Warren Hendricks
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
whendricks@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 788 0733

Tyla Foster
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
tfoster@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 708 0548

Gerhardt Ehlers
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
gehlers@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 708 0178

Juanita Broom
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
jbroom@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 560 2904