This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. If you continue to use this site without changing your cookie settings we assume you consent to the use of cookies on this site.

find an article

mine and occupational health and safety | 12 May 2020
newsflash

mine and occupational health and safety


South Africa: Mine Health and Safety Act, 1996 – invitation for public comments on draft guideline for COVID-19 outbreaks at mines

On Monday, 11 May 2020, a notice was published in the Government Gazette No. 43304, GN. 262 of 2020, inviting the public to comment on the Draft Guideline for the Compilation of a Mandatory Code of Practice for the Mitigation and Management of COVID-19 Outbreak at mines, which the Chief Inspector of Mines for the Mine Health and Safety Inspectorate of the Department of Mineral Resources and Energy, intends to publish in terms of section 9(3) of the Mine Health and Safety Act, 1996.

Interested persons who wish to comment have been invited to provide written comments to the office of the Chief Inspector of Mines by Thursday, 14 May 2020.

The notice further provides that written comments must be forwarded for the attention of Dr L Ndelu to the following e-mail address: David.Msiza@dmre.gov.za.

Click here to view a copy of the draft guideline.

For more information, please contact:

Willem le Roux
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive Consultant
wleroux@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 772 5267

Pieter Colyn
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
pcolyn@ENSafrica.com
+27 83 327 2474

Celeste Coles
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
ccoles@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 875 8202

Warren Hendricks
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
whendricks@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 788 0733

Tyla Foster
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
tfoster@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 708 0548

Gerhardt Ehlers
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
gehlers@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 708 0178

Juanita Broom
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
jbroom@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 560 2904