This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. If you continue to use this site without changing your cookie settings we assume you consent to the use of cookies on this site.

find an article

10 Dec 2019
ENSight

 


New Ergonomics Regulations, 2019 – Occupational Health and Safety Act, 1993

On 06 December 2019, the new Ergonomics Regulations, 2019 were published by the Minister of Employment and Labour in the Government Gazette, in terms of section 43 of the Occupational Health and Safety Act, 1993 (the "OHASA"). These regulations came into operation on the date of publication in the Government Gazette.

Explanatory notes were simultaneously published in the Government Gazette (as an annexure to the new Ergonomics Regulations, 2019) with a view to provide practical insight to all stakeholders (such as employers, employees and the public) who are responsible for, or concerned with, the control and prevention of exposure to ergonomic risks, meaning a characteristic or action in the workplace, workplace conditions, or a combination thereof that may impair overall system performance and human well‑being in a workplace. These notes must be read and interpreted in conjunction with the OHASA and the Ergonomics Regulations, 2019. 

Click here to view a copy of the new regulations and explanatory notes.

For more information, please contact:

Willem le Roux
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive Consultant
wleroux@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 772 5267

Pieter Colyn
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
pcolyn@ENSafrica.com
+27 83 327 2474

Celeste Coles
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
ccoles@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 875 8202

Warren Hendricks
mine and occupational health and safety | Executive
whendricks@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 788 0733

Tyla Foster
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
tfoster@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 708 0548

Gerhardt Ehlers
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
gehlers@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 708 0178

Juanita Broom
Mine and Occupational Health and Safety | Executive
jbroom@ENSafrica.com
+27 82 560 2904